Solomon Rataemane

Scientific Committee Members

Psychiatrist . WPA .


He is head of Department of Psychiatry, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU); He has special interest in child psychiatry, mood disorders and addiction medicine, including culture and psychiatry, and has served as deputy chairperson and chairperson of the Central Drug Authority of South Africa from 1995 to 2005. He is a Board member of ICAA (International Council on Alcohol and Addictions) and served on the Health and Examinations Committees and the Medical and Dental Board of the Health Professions Council of South Africa until May 2010. He was appointed Deputy Chair of the Medical Research Council of South Africa (2007 – 2010). He is a member of the College of Psychiatrists of the CMSA; World Association for Psychosocial Rehabilitation (Africa Regional Vice President); American Psychiatric Association (International Member); South African Society of Psychiatrists (Chair International Relations Division); International Council on Alcohol and Addictions (Board Member); Dr George Mukhari Hospital (Chief Psychiatrist).

He trained in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry (Maudsley Hospital) in the UK (1988); he continues to function as examiner and external examiner at his university and other universities in South Africa, Tanzania and so on. He has given talks at various forums of the WPA, WASP, WAPR and countries such as Ethiopia, Nigeria, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Uganda, Namibia, Zambia and others in Africa. Talks covered a range of subjects such as Intergenerational Trauma; Impact of culture in psychiatric diagnosis; Addiction services in Africa (sub- Sahara); Principles of psycho-social rehabilitation and others.